O’Conner Voted Third Team Peach Belt All-Conference

O’Conner Voted Third Team Peach Belt All-Conference
GREENWOOD, S.C. - The Peach Belt Conference announced the 2016-17 women's basketball All-Conference team at a banquet in Greenwood, S.C., the site of the PBC Tournament. Augusta University senior Breonna O'Conner was named third-team All-Conference.

Lander's Breshay Johnson was named the league's Player of the Year while teammate Mylea McKenith was named a co-Defensive Player of the Year. The other Defensive Player of the Year was Columbus State's Alexis Carter and her coach, Anita Howard, was named the Coach of the Year. USC Aiken's Kwajelin Farrar was honored as the PBC Freshman of the Year.


O'Conner (Ville Platte, Louis.) ranked second in the league with 180 made field goals and 73 steals. Her 16.8 points per game were the fourth most in the Peach Belt and she led AU in scoring, free throws, and steals. She ended the season with 4.2 rebounds per game, 2.0 assists per game, And 2.9 steals per game.


O'Conner was named a preseason All-Conference selection at the start of the 2016-17 season and picked up All-Conference honors last season as a junior.


The 2016-17 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.


Read the PBC press release by clicking here


2017 PBC Women's Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team

Ashley Asouzu, Columbus State

Alexis Carter, Columbus State

Kelsey Hutchins, North Georgia

Breshay Johnson, Lander

Ty'hesha Reynolds, Lander


Second Team

Andrea Benford, Clayton State

Kwajelin Farrar, USC Aiken

Shaunice Fulmore, Francis Marion

Alyah McGriff, Georgia College

Mylea McKenith, Lander


Third Team

Machala Raymonville, Armstrong State

Tierra Johnson, Clayton State

Jonissa Monley, UNC Pembroke

Breonna O'Conner, Augusta

Meredith Tarver, Young Harris


Player of the Year

Breshay Johnson, Lander


co-Defensive Players of the Year

Alexis Carter, Columbus State

Mylea McKenith, Lander


Freshman of the Year

Kwajelin Farrar, USC Aiken


Coach of the Year

Anita Howard, Columbus State


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at www.augustajags.com and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags


-- 30 --