Keshun Sherrill Named NCAA Southeast Region Player Of The Year

Keshun Sherrill Named NCAA Southeast Region Player Of The Year

HARTSVILE, S.C. – Augusta University men's basketball senior guard Keshun Sherrill has been voted the NCAA Division II Conference Commissioner's Association (D2CCA) Southeast Region Men's Basketball Player-of-the-Year.


Sherrill claimed the region's top honor for the first time in his career. He was also named a first-team, All-Southeast Region selection this season. He was joined on the All-Region first team by Carson-Newman's Charles Clark, Lincoln-Memorial's Luquon Choice, Montevallo's Javonte Douglas, and Pfeiffer's A.J. Clark


With the first-team selection, all five players are automatically eligible for Daktronics All-American honors. It is the first Southeast Region Player of the Year award for the Jags since Ben Madgen earned the honor in 2009 and 2010.


The 5-9 senior guard from Cleveland, N.C., was also named the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year and owns the all-time scoring title in conference history with 2,333 points – breaking Madgen's previously held record of 2,306 points.


Sherrill was also first team All-PBC this season and was named the PBC Player of the Week three times in 2016-17. He averaged 22.6 points on the year and started all 32 games. He led the Peach Belt in points, field goals, free throws, and minutes played and was second in points per game and three pointers. He finishes third amongst active 2017 Division II players for the most career points.


Sherrill scored 42 points in a win at North Georgia, the most in a single game by any player in the league this season and tied for eighth on the PBC all-time list. He had four games of 30 or more points, including 33 against USC Aiken in the season finale.


Selected to the second team were guards Shaun Stewart and Shaq Dance of Limestone, Jalin Alexander of Queens, C.J. Wilson of Young Harris, and Randall Shaw of Anderson. Forward Chris Perry from Lincoln Memorial University rounded out the Southeast Region second team.


Players selected to the region first team will now be listed on the D2CCA All-American national ballot. The All-American team will be announced Monday, March 20.


The team is voted on by the members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).


2016-17 Division II Conference Commissioners Association Men's Basketball All-Southeast Region Team


Southeast Region Player of the Year

Keshun Sherrill, Augusta University


First Team

Name School

Keshun Sherrill, Augusta University

Charles Clark, Carson-Newman

Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial University

Javonte Douglas, University of Montavello

A.J. Clark, Pfeiffer University


Second Team

Name School

Chris Perry, Lincoln Memorial University

Shaun Stewart, Limestone College

Shaq Dance, Limestone College

Jalin Alexander, Queens University of Charlotte

C.J. Wilson, Young Harris College

Randall Shaw, Anderson University


About D2CCA: The Division II Conference Commissioners Association All-America Men's Basketball Team is sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association. The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.  The All-America Men's Basketball team is selected by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA).


Fans of Jaguar Athletics can subscribe to the email listserve by clicking here. Fans can follow Augusta University at and receive short updates on Facebook at Augusta University Athletics and on Twitter at @AugustaJags


-- 30 --